City Hall

Mayor Bibb announces rigorous two-phase selection process to evaluate nearly 300 applications for new Community Police Commission


25 community leaders & police association representatives to shortlist applications

Wednesday, May 11, 2022 - Cleveland, OH – Today, Mayor Justin M. Bibb announced a rigorous selection process to review and evaluate nearly 300 applications to join the new Community Police Commission (CPC), the highest number of applications the City has received to join the CPC since its original inception.

The Office of the Mayor received 281 applications to join the new Commission, which closed on Monday, May 9, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. Applications will now be turned over to a Resident Review Committee for the first phase of screening and evaluation in the selection process.

The Resident Review Committee consists of a broad and diverse cross-section of leaders from community and civil rights organizations, as well as faith leaders, attorneys, medical professionals, police association representatives, and advocates for victims’ families, mental health and people experiencing homelessness. The diversity of the review committee reflects the diversity prescribed by Section 115-5.  

“We’re encouraged by the volume of applications received to join the new Community Police Commission. It shows that citizens are engaged and committed to police reform. Today, we’re proud to launch a rigorous, community-led evaluation process to ensure diverse voices from the community and our police associations are represented in the selection process,” Mayor Bibb stated.

Resident Review Committee members will each submit a shortlist of 15 names by June 8th for further consideration in the second phase of review by a Selection Advisory Panel. Applicants who are shortlisted will be further considered by the panel and interviewed before Mayor Bibb makes recommendations to nominate ten applicants to City Council for approval in July 2022. City Council will nominate three members to the new 13-member Commission.

The City’s new Chief Ethics Officer, Delanté Spencer Thomas Esq., will Chair the Resident Review Committee and the Selection Advisory Panel to maintain consistency and integrity of the evaluation process. A full list of members is available below.

Resident Review Committee
Alicia Kirkman
Archie L. Green, II
Ariel Cathcart
Brenda V. Bickerstaff
Brendan Trewella
Chris Knestrick
Crystal Bryant
Cynthia Nozomi Ikuta
Emmanuel Vélez
Fred Ward
James O'Malley
Jazmin Long
Jeff Follmer
Jeffrey A. Claridge
Justin Abdul-Kareem Henton
Rev. Dr. Larry Wayne Howard
LaTonya Goldsby
Luther Roddy
Melekte Melaku
Nora Kelley
Paula J. Kampf
R. L Render III
Pastor Richard M. Gibson
Samara Knight
Selina M. Pagan

Selection Advisory Panel 
Douglas Horner 
Phyllis Harris  
Dr. C. Jay Matthews I 
Linda Hinton